Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

taking pics at night...anyone know how?

Search this Thread

Old 21 December 2001, 08:45 AM
Spudgun GTR
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool

i need to take some pics of my car at night, darker the better.
i took some yesterday, but when they were developed, they looked sh1te.
i need to be able to get a good pic of the colours, but in an outside setting.
i have a normal camera, with a flash.i use fuji 400 film. i'm no photography expert, but would appreciate anyone being able to give me any tips on this
thanks folks
Old 21 December 2001, 08:56 AM
chiark
Scooby Regular

Difficult, this one. In fact, damn hard.

I have a very, very, very limited knowledge of photography. *very* limited. So hopefully someone with a clue will answer, but in the meantime...

Why do you need everything to be dark? Will the car be "lit" at all? If so, you need to forget the flash and try to provide some other form of illumination.

Depending on the amount of light you can get, you'll want to move to a faster film if possible. Image will be grainier, but...

Set your aperture to the largest possible (smallest f-stop). A side effect of this is that you'll have a small depth of field, so if you're close to the front of the car you'll need to be aware that the back may be out of focus...

I think you'll need to experiment
Old 21 December 2001, 09:14 AM
SWRTWannabe
Scooby Regular

Lightbulb

Again, I'm no photography expert but a few hints...

First, either use a tripod or stand the camera on something firm - because of the slower shutter speed it will be more prone to shakes.

The problem with the flash is that if you are too far away, it has no effect, but if you are close enough that it does have an effect, it doesn't evenly light shiny surfaces like car bodies - you'll get a bright spot where the flash light reflects. It might be better to take the picture in a reasonably lit area and utilise the light from that instead.