Previous employer owes me money - Legal Advice PLEASE

Search this Thread

Old 07 January 2007, 08:21 PM
GE90
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Previous employer owes me money - Legal Advice PLEASE

Hi,

Its a long shot I know, but if anyone has legal knowledge I would really appreciate some help! I'll keep it short.....

I believe that my previous employer owes me some money for pro-rated annual leave. They are presently having a 'senior management discussion' over it, and have done for the last 3 1/2 months!

Just not getting anywhere, so advice regarding how to proceed would be appreciated. If I push them they say that it takes time to come to a decision, and at the moment all is ammicable.... Is there a time limit to claim the money back I wonder...?

Amount in discussion is in the region of £600.

The company is a very large well known organisation.

Thanks very much!
Old 07 January 2007, 08:29 PM
SWRTWannabe
Scooby Regular

I'm not a legal expert but.....

If it is a large organisation, I'd have thought it unlikely that it would take "senior management discussion" over six hundred quid - I'd have thought that the HR department would deal with it and get sign off from your previous line manager or someone similar.

I'd put something in writing stating that you will give them something like 28 days (or some other reasonable timescale) to come back with a decision, stating if a decision is not reached or the outcome is not to your satisfaction that you will be seeking legal advice with a view to taking matters furthe.

It's either that our you could threaten to sell secrets to their competitors....
Old 07 January 2007, 09:07 PM
chocolate_o_brian
Scooby Regular

im going through legal proceedings currently with my employers, due to an accident at work in which they tried to blame me for, and to be honest its the best thing i could have done.