Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

DVD's for £1 - can this be true?

Search this Thread

Old 26 November 2001, 06:39 PM
pslewis
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question

I am no expert - so I come here to the home of the IT bod!!

I have just been told how to download a free program off the internet that can read a DVD on your computer - extract the files, write them and then you can 'Burn' them onto a CD!! it takes maybe 2 CD's for a normal film and takes hours to extract the data .... but, you have a copy of the DVD and it plays well on any DVD player.

Am I being taken for the fool I am - or is there some mileage in this?

Pete
Old 26 November 2001, 06:43 PM
jjones
Scooby Regular

you can buy a DVD burner in staples for £499.

Old 26 November 2001, 06:45 PM
MorayMackenzie
Scooby Senior

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation

PSLewis,

Does the word Copyright mean anything to you?

This is not the place to discuss software piracy.

Moray
Old 26 November 2001, 06:46 PM
Hanslow
Scooby Regular

Wink

Pete,

As far as I am aware, yes you can do it. Haven't done it myself, or got any, but occasionally when browsing, I happen to stumble across information pertaining to the aforementioned backup procedure
Old 26 November 2001, 06:46 PM
Beemer_Deano
Scooby Regular

This'll probably convert to MPEG2 (crap) which most (all?) DVD players play. Even DIVX (which gave a pretty good level of compression) was way below DVD quality.

All the best,

Deano
Old 26 November 2001, 06:54 PM
father_jack
Scooby Regular

Yeah - this would be ripping them onto VCD. You'd be better off getting round the macrovision protection (via chip or an external box) and putting it straight onto VHS.
Old 26 November 2001, 07:04 PM
Robertio
Scooby Regular

Lightbulb

It is possible, and I do know people who have done this, imaage quality is not bad, but the sound comes through decidedly fewer channels.