Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Psoriasis

Search this Thread

Old 29 September 2006, 09:09 AM
Remster
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Psoriasis

Any Doctors or fellow sufferers care to comment?

I have been suffereing from Psoriasis now for over 5 years and it's getting on my t1ts. Fortunately, I only suffer mild symptoms but it has spread to other places and I fear that this will carry on as time passes. My GP came up with a wonderful pearl of wisdom when we were discussing why I had Psoriasis. After explaining that I ran my own business which has proven very stressfull at times in recent years, he suggested that I might consider another career! . Yeah, nice one Doc, simple as that!

I have been prescribed all the usual creams etc. and have found "Dovabet" (Sp?) to keep scabiness at bay on my elbows and knees. However, this is a right pain applying morning and night and due to the nature of the product it leaves patches on shirts and sticks trousers to knees etc.

I also have it on my scalp in patches which doesn't bother me too much as I have thick dark hair so it can't be seen. Tried all the coal tar shampoos etc. but can't stand the smell.

My main concern is that I also have it under my finger nails & toe nails which raises the nail and makes them look horrible. I also get black spots/lines in the nail which are weird and it can make the nail painful at times.

As I mentioned earlier, my symptoms are not as bad as some poor sufferers but I want to improve my situation if at all possible, without changing career!

Over the summer, it is noticeable that the UV from the sun helps the areas on my elbows and knees. Although you have to watch sunburn on those areas!

Any tips on diet/products etc. from resident Docs. and fellow sufferers?

Last edited by Remster; 29 September 2006 at 09:13 AM.
Old 29 September 2006, 09:15 AM
boxst
Scooby Regular

Hello