Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Home brewing: an illustrated photo guide

Search this Thread

Old 16 April 2006, 09:17 PM
AndyC_772
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Home brewing: an illustrated photo guide

Following on from danwrx1980's hilarious thread here, I present Andy's guide to Brewing It Properly - the illustrated guide that I wish I'd had when Mrs C and I started brewing our own beer a couple of years ago.

We're firmly of the opinion that there's no substitute for so-called 'full mash' brewing, which is exactly the same as the process that commercial breweries use to produce the finest real ales, and can achieve results of the same quality. Undeniably there's more work involved than diluting a can of sludge with hot water, but it's a fun and productive way to spend the day, and the results speak for themselves. So, without further ado:

First of all, you'll need to find yourself somewhere to use as a brewery. A sink and a heat resistant work surface are the essentials, and you should have enough clean space to keep sterilised equipment without it getting covered in last night's takeaway or pet fur:

To store the final product you'll want a pressure barrel:

...and to produce the beer in the first place, you'll need a boiler...

...a fermentation bin and a mash tun, which is an insulated box (basically a picnic cool box) with a tap fitted. You'll need some other kit too, of which more later.

Beer is basically made from malted barley, hops, yeast and water. Many beers also include small amounts of other cereals (though purists may argue that they're unnecessary or undesirable) or additional sugar. This recipe uses a little flaked maize, but the bulk of the grain (known as 'grist') is, as in most beers, pale malt.

Brewing ingredients, left to right: brewer's sugar, flaked barley, flaked maize, crystal malt, black malt, pale malt and (just visible) smoked malt.

Pale malt, close up:

Hops come dried and vacuum packed: