Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

redundancy tale

Search this Thread

Old 02 February 2006, 09:05 AM
monty baber
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default redundancy tale

I have been working in my current job for nearly ten years now, I have always put 100% in and I have always been very well thought of from above,

Approx July 04 we were basically put at risk of redundancy due to relocation of the part of the business in the next year, we were given an initial date of August 05 so I did’nt worry too much and just got on with my job happily.

We started having meetings with bosses (one to one) around May 05 and from day one I was told that I was involved in the plans in the future and my job will remain interesting and varied (basically they did’nt want to lose me).

When August arrived my department (of 7) were told that the risk period had been extended but that money had been put into a pot and was basically a loyalty bonus for staying on (payable even if kept on), the new date given was jan 06(nice) and that two of the 7 were required after that date.

Quite confident that if I was laid off I could find work I carried on working hard and pleasing my bosses etc

When Jan arrived we were given letters showing redundancy entitlement (£) along with another date of March , on the letter it stated that as we had been strung along if we found another job we could take the redundancy but obviously this was on a limited basis as they did’nt want to lose everybody.

Two guys left as they was on a temp contract anyway, 1 guy was basically on long term sick so he put in for redundancy and it was welcomed (my company pays for sick) that left 4, 1 guy found another job locally and as he was’nt well thought of by the bosses he was given (just like everyone else) full redundancy, loyalty bonus and he gave 1 weeks notice (contracted to 1 month).