Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

HR Professionals - Advice please

Search this Thread

Old 19 May 2005, 11:27 AM
MattW
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HR Professionals - Advice please

The wife has been offerred the chance of VR and has applied because the liklihood is that all the roles will be off shored at some point, so might as well go now.

However it looks like the individual offers will be made either today or tomorrow afternoon. I thought that there was a code of practice that prevented redunancy notices being issued on a Friday. Is this true? and would it apply in this case as the offers will be merely offers at this stage and the individual would not be obliged to accept.
Old 19 May 2005, 06:07 PM
Drunken Bungle Whore
Scooby Regular

Hi Matt!

Nothing about Fridays that I've ever come accross - though I'm not an expert in Redundancies.

Has her company been through a proper consultation period? Ideally this should be a period of 4 -6 weeks where they discuss alternate internal oppportunities and/ or offer advice about redundacy (and re employment elsewhere if it's a really good company) - will dig out a code of practice for you.
Old 19 May 2005, 06:12 PM
Drunken Bungle Whore
Scooby Regular

Here's a bit about consultation periods etc. Sorry it's not a clicky link, but it's from the CIPD website and "if you're names not down you're not coming in" - though I'm sure that's not too much of a problem for some NSR chaps!

Consultation

If dismissals are proposed, consultations with recognised trade unions or elected representatives must start at least 90 days before for 100 or more employees and 30 days before for 20 - 99.

Although the law prescribes consultation only for multiple redundancies (more than 20), case law makes clear that consultation is also necessary for individual redundancy certainly with individual employees, and possibly with employee representatives.