Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Car allowance

Search this Thread

Old 03 January 2005, 05:07 PM
Ballistic
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car allowance

I need some advice from people that opt out of their company car scheme and receive a monthly car allowance instead.
In June 2001, instead of receiving a company car, I was given £200 gross per month to buy and run a suitable car for company business.
I'm a service engineer doing around 25k miles per year (including personal miles) and claim back from the company £0.40 (for the first 10k miles per year) then £0.25 for any business miles. I have to buy all my own fuel.
I have been led to believe that the current going rate for a car allowance is £500 gross per month.
Given the choice I still wish to continue opting out as it gives me the freedom, within certain limits, to own what I want.
Being as motoring costs, especially fuel, have risen a lot in the last 3.5 years, I feel that I have got good grounds to request a review. Bearing in mind that I will be negotiating with an accountant in a Swedish company (where they don't seem to understand the perk of a company car), if you were in my position how would you best go about getting the monthly allowance raised to the going rate?
Old 03 January 2005, 05:24 PM
johnfelstead
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

Received 53 Likes on 30 Posts

there is no "going rate", you get what the job/salary package dictates based on what your company wants to pay you. My last car allowance was £250/month.

You can claim back from the IR a tax refund for the diference between their mileage rates and what you receive from the company via your anual tax returns.
Old 03 January 2005, 06:00 PM
scoobyjimbo
Scooby Regular