Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

CAD engineers

Search this Thread

Old 23 September 2004, 06:32 PM
Jap2Scrap
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CAD engineers

Are there any out there? Specifically self-employed. I'm thinking of working from home doing this, significantly part-time to top up my earnings.

Juat wondered if anyone knows of any pitfalls or things to watch out for. I'm more interested in doing 2D to 3D translations to produce CAM files or STL files. I also have no idea what the going rate is for doing this sorta thing as where I work now it's all part of the service (we do Selective Laser Sintering rapid prototyping). Also wondering if there are any CAD engineers on SN who may have an original copy of 'i-deas' software and verification code they no longer use and want to sell.

Any tips appreciated

Ray

(not expecting a huge response btw )
Old 23 September 2004, 06:38 PM
D6ale
Scooby Regular

Im a CAD engineer, well used to be a draughtsman and have moved on to being a Project Engineer, However i still use CAD.

I have often thought about doing this, i have known people to do well out of it. I dont have the guts to step out on my own though.

Would be interesting to know if anyone on here has done it
Old 23 September 2004, 06:42 PM
pslewis
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I play with CAD as part of my job:-

Mentor Graphics and PCAD for PCB Design/Electronics

AutoCad and the superb Unigraphics Solid Modelling for Mechanical stuff

Not ventured out on my own - wouldn't have the courage!

Oh, yes, we rapid prototype too ....... and have a dedicated CAD section of overpaid lads with their flash cars and fancy CAD Software/Hardware!!

Pete
Old 23 September 2004, 06:58 PM
Jap2Scrap
Scooby Regular

overpaid lads
you'd love having me work for you then on the p!ss poor money i'm on
Old 23 September 2004, 07:16 PM
pslewis
Scooby Regular