Help with applying for Spanish residents permit please

Search this Thread

Old 20 August 2004, 02:30 PM
RussBoy
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with applying for Spanish residents permit please

Hi,

For quite some time now my wife and I have been considering a permanent move to Spain (at least for a few years) - we are regular visitors, love the people there, have started speaking the language (albeit very basically but we are nevertheless trying to make the effort...) and have found an area we really love (Competa) and can afford to buy a small house in that area for cash (once we've sold our U.K base and released equity) plus have a few quid in the bank for a few years.

My main concern is the residents permit. I know that as an EU citizen I can live there for a while but will need to apply for a permit within 6 months. It would seem as though I'd need to have a medical with a Spanish quack and the problem for me is that I have diabetes (insulin dependent) and some of the difficulties that go with that like high blood pressure.

I'm only 32 and run my own businesses (of which I may or may not keep domiliciled in the U.K as they are Internet type projects) and pretty healthy otherwise as anyone who knows me on here will vouch. My question is - would I be turned down for a permit because of diabetes or are they more looking for immediate life threatening and social services draining illnesses? I'd be gutted if my illness prevented us from having this chance.

Also, I wouldn't intend working out there straight away as my U.K interests may provide me with a few quid plus I'd have the benefits of no mortgage or liabilities and some savings. Would this be an issue and what level of financial security would the Spanish authorities accept as being acceptable (by way of savings to show we can support ourselves)?