Advice on website content

Search this Thread

Old 22 July 2004, 03:09 PM
talizman
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on website content

Hi all,

I've been updating my Tae Kwon Do school's website recently, and I'm re-vamping the format and content.

I'd be grateful for any suggestions or ideas as to what you think should be included/removed from the site.

As a martial artist myself, I am aware of what fellow martial artists would like to see in the site, but I am more concerned with the opinions of those with little or no experience in the martial arts.

What would you, as a "novice" like to see/read about in a Tae Kwon Do website?

All opinions are welcome and invited, but especially those of non martial artists, so that I can get a feel of what the general public want in the site.

Ideally, it should serve as a tool for recruiting new members, so give me your thoughts....

Thanks

Website
Old 22 July 2004, 03:33 PM
Kieran_Burns
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

I practiced TKD for a number of years when I was a student - I preferred to spar and use it as a method of keeping fit (and I feel it was an EXCELLENT way of doing so)

I was taught under a few different teachers - the main one being Ray Smeathers (IVth Degree) who was VERY strong on patterns (national champion I seem to remember)

In the end I was 'put off' because of Rays' teaching methods - he was very rigid and did not allow alternate forms to even be demostrated (I sparred against people practicing a variety of martial arts and picked up some AMAZING defence methods )

So, given all that - what I would like to see is some emphasis on the 'keep fit' side of TKD, the way in which it promotes self-confidence (it does), interaction, it can be fun, although the flexibility bits were less than amusing

Oh, people like to know how progression is made.. you have explained about grading (nerve-wracking!) but an explanation of the belts would be nice...