Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Change of career - Automotive / Motorsport?

Search this Thread

Old 05 July 2004, 03:39 PM
Graz
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Change of career - Automotive / Motorsport?

I think I'm hitting that point in life where a change of direction is needed to revitalise my enthusiasm for work

I've been working in the satellite communications industry for over ten years, and since leaving University, for a company designing and manfacturing equipment for the Inmarsat network (you may have seen the banners on the WRC). Over this period of time I have progressed well, to a highly respected principal engineers position. I have extensive experience in both the hardware and software domains of the companies products as well as a very good understanding of the system as a whole. The skills I do have would fit in very well within any other wireless telecommunications industry (e.g. mobile phone development). Sounds like a CV this

Anyway recently I seem to be doing less and less of the type of work I enjoy, specifically hands on type stuff, and more and more documentation and specification writing. This is beginning to **** me off . I want to get back to the technical side, designing and writing the software, and getting things to work / function. I used to get great satisfaction from seeing the software I wrote actually being used to establish telephone calls etc. via the satellite

Now where does the automotive / motorsport bit come in? Well I always fancied working in these sectors, even went for some job interviews (Fords etc.) when leaving University. Unfortunately at the time the automotive industry wasn't exactly boyant and there was a lot of competition for the few jobs there were. Hence I ended up in communications.