Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Any drummers out there?

Search this Thread

Old 03 July 2004, 11:52 PM
micared
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any drummers out there?

......and if so, how old were you when you started, were you self taught/have lessons, how much did it cost, how long did it take to be any good, d'you wish you hadn't bothered, or is it the best thing you've ever done, etc, etc.
Old 04 July 2004, 12:50 AM
Nevetas
Scooby Regular

12 when I started, 2 years of lessons then self taught.

Old 04 July 2004, 07:14 AM
Shropshire-Guy
Scooby Regular

Ask Scoosh on the Darlaston thread. Hes a Drummer with a Band. , A Gud one as wel so i have been told

SG

Last edited by Shropshire-Guy; 04 July 2004 at 07:15 AM. Reason: spelling
Old 04 July 2004, 08:31 AM
Fatman
Scooby Regular

I was about 13 when I started playing. All self-taught. Best way of improving was to play with different groups of people - i.e. more than one 'band'. Costs? Second hand kits aren't expensive, especially lower-grade stuff. Depends what you call 'expensive'. I guess. The only thing I regret about choosing drums is the size of it all. Why didn't I just take the other option, bass guitar...?!
Old 04 July 2004, 10:21 AM
Little Frank
Scooby Regular

Hello. I'm a drummer. I started playing drums with a toy drumkit when I was three. I played it so much my Dad had to keep mending it. When I was four and a half I got a proper drumkit for christmas. It's not as big as a full-size one, but it's not a toy. I'm nearly six now, and my Mum and Dad and teachers and friends tell me that I'm fantastic at playing it. I haven't had any lessons yet, because drum teachers don't take children under six. My Dad is Bubba po off of muppets and we play songs together in the spare room. He says he'll put a picture up of me playing later.
Old 04 July 2004, 10:46 AM
micared
Scooby Regular

Thanks for the replies......especially the last one!!!
Old 04 July 2004, 11:21 AM
Chip