Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Disc brakes on bikes

Search this Thread

Old 01 July 2004, 10:26 PM
Markus
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disc brakes on bikes

"Chunky" is getting a bike (more than likley a 19" Iron Horse Oxide) and he quite likes the look of it.

I get the feeling that the modding bug might hit me. I've been a good boy and have not modded the passat, just don't think it's the same as modding a scooby. Anyway, one of the mods I might make to the bike is to upgrade the brakes to these funky disk brakes.

Now, has anyone done this? if so, what setup did you use and why? how easy is it to do this? How do they fit to the bike/wheel, is there some adaptor kit or something? Do you need a new hub for the wheel, if so, I assume you'd need to respoke the wheel?

Would it be better to get a bike shop to supply and fit the discs than for me to do it myself? (I know I'm no mechanic, but I can fit a dump valve and induction kit to a scoob )
Old 01 July 2004, 10:52 PM
Marin
Scooby Regular

You will need disc specific hubs - 6 bolt is industry standard although the new Shimano brakes use a splined hub. Either way, you'll need new hubs and the wheels rebuilt to fit them. Also need to make sure your forks and rear triangle have disc mounts on them, if not, no go and there are two different types of mounts depending on the fork manufacturer.

Could end up cheaper to upgrade to a new bike with discs as standard plus it's a good excuse to get a new one too :-)
Old 01 July 2004, 11:25 PM
imlach
Scooby Regular

Assuming you really feel you NEED disc brakes, as opposed to just modding for the sake of it

Only worthwhile if you do a lot of proper mountain biking on dusty/wet/muddy descents IMHO.
Old 02 July 2004, 07:53 PM
MarkO
Scooby Regular