Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Late registering for VAT - advice please!

Search this Thread

Old 25 June 2004, 01:34 PM
blip
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Late registering for VAT - advice please!

I'm a sole trader, never been VAT registered and have just realised that I went through the VAT threshold of 58k just over 6 months ago. I had stupidly misunderstood when I needed to register, thinking that as long as I didn't earn more than 58k in my financial year (rather than over any 12 month period) I didn't need to register. I know - doofus!!!

Anyway I'm now panicking because since I hit the threshold in Dec 03 I have subsequently invoiced for about another 40k (without charging any VAT). I'm worried that I will have to repay loads of VAT (money that I don't readily have) as well as a penalty for late registration.

Does anyone know what is likely to happen and how they backdate and calculate not only any VAT that I owe them (even though I haven't been charging any on my invoices) but also any VAT that I can offset against that for goods/services (with a VAT element) that I have been buying ???

Also can I just clarify that the threshold is based on my gross turnover, irrespective of how much of that I pay to my suppliers, or ultimately pocket myself?

Cheers

**Edited to say: Am I right to think that they will find out and come knocking if I don't actually tell them?? Thing is I probably won't earn above 58k again in a year the way things are going now.

Last edited by blip; 25 June 2004 at 01:36 PM.
Old 25 June 2004, 03:53 PM
Butty
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You must register if:

a) at the end of any month, the total value of the taxable supplies you have made in the past 12 months exceeds the limit
or
b) at any time you expect that the value of your taxable supplies will be more than the threshold.

It sounds like a) is your scenario.