Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Grade II listed

Search this Thread

Old 21 April 2003, 11:25 PM
MattN
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anyone know what cvan and can't be done to a grade II listed building. I need to do some renovations (major) and what to get an idea of what I can and can't do.

Tried an online search but as expected got a load of crap results.

cheers,

matt.
Old 21 April 2003, 11:31 PM
RON
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Try making a quick call to your local planning office in the morning, it's not straght forward, I know that much!
Old 22 April 2003, 12:10 AM
ajm
Scooby Regular

I think most of the stipulations will be specific to preserving the look of the exterior of the building, however you should check with your local planning as they will be the ones who grant/deny any applications!
Old 22 April 2003, 12:42 PM
LG John
Scooby Regular

Talking

I'm a planning officer so fairly qualified to help. The most important thing I can tell you is that listed buildings are a nightmare and they are all listed for their own individual reasons. For this reason, before doing anything to the building (or putting down deposits) contact your local planning authority and discuss what you propose with them. They should keep you right from there

Also, ignore anything else thats said in this thread from here on in. You'd be suprised how many people think they know the planning system works. Normally I wouldn't be so blunt as this but if you **** around with a Grade II listed building you could get stung big time which is why I'm warning you

Good luck
Old 22 April 2003, 06:28 PM
MattN
Scooby Regular

cheers chappies
Old 22 April 2003, 08:14 PM
DAVE-W
Scooby Regular

Smile

I'm with Saxo boy on this one....being in the trade myself

Listings ARE different for each individual building and DO NOT, as many people think on a grade II listing, only apply to exterior appearance and features.