Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Anyone live and work in Belgium?

Search this Thread

Old 17 February 2003, 02:10 PM
MattW
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
As title....got a chance of a job there and want to know about tax and cost of living.
Old 17 February 2003, 02:25 PM
Brendan Hughes
Scooby Regular

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
All I can remember is that tax avoidance is the national sport (eg even supermarket checkout girls are self-employed) and cost of living will be higher if you are in Brussels due to all the embassies, Eurocrats, NATO etc. 'Twas 7 yrs ago...

Where's Theo?
Old 17 February 2003, 03:11 PM
MattW
Scooby Regular

Thanks Brendan....its all very confusing....the agency say I get paid 13.9 months pa. How the hell does that work???

Calling Theo!!!
Old 17 February 2003, 03:33 PM
EvilBevel
Scooby Regular

Cool

Just back from a trackday trip to the UK if you don't mind

OK, I'm not an expert, but assuming you will work as a regular employee:

Take your gross income
Pay 13.7 % social security on it
(don't worry, your employer pays 46 % on top of that as well )
So now you are down to your taxable income, unless you get special benefits like meal vouchers (not taxable)

Then, depending on the level of your income, expect to pay anywhere between 33 % and 70% taxes. This goes according to scales/slices (first 2K is tax free, next 5K is 15 % etc)

You now have your net income.

Pay a further 21% VAT on anything you buy, including second hand cars etc. OTOH, my MY99 cost me 10.000 UKP new ex-VAT ex-taxes.

Long story short: ask your potential employer to calculate your net income from your gross income. The net income is what you really want to know. He'll need to know a few things (family situation, number of kids) and then he can calculate it fairly accurately. If you don't want to ask them, mail me the gross salary + benefits package and I'll ask my wife (she's in HR) to calculate it.