Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

More attempted hacking while on Scoobynet!

Search this Thread

Old 22 July 2001, 08:55 PM
GranTurismo
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry

Hello,

I know we have had some trouble recently. I was on Scoobynet at 8.43pm Sunday. Some clever git was trying to get into my PC via FTP from the following IP 211.23.186.125.

A TRACERT showed that they use HINET in Tiwan as there ISP.

Are people sitting on Scoobynet ports, picking us up and having a go?

My Deep IP knowledge is fairly limited (as a Project Manager I normally have a propper techy to hold my hand)

Anyone else had bother from round that way?
Old 22 July 2001, 09:33 PM
HunterB
Scooby Regular

Question

Two attempts into my PC tonight:

From 213.123.48.112 and 210.97.117.1

Brian
Old 22 July 2001, 09:46 PM
boomer
Scooby Senior

Exclamation

I've had quite a few incoming connection attempts, via TCP, Portmap etc. Loads last Thursday, normally in "threes" from a given source IP address.

Lots of different addresses though - so there must be a plenty of "trojaned" PCs out there!!!

mb
Old 22 July 2001, 10:24 PM
ChrisB

To be honest, I've given up being bothered by the Zone Alarm logs on my home PC. Aren't enough hours in the day as it is!

Firewall alerts at work are a different matter though...

ChrisB.
Old 22 July 2001, 10:51 PM
Dream Weaver
Scooby Regular

Unhappy

During the attacks I had plenty from 1 IPA but then realised that it was actually the tests I was running from GRC.com

Make sure it is not this first all

DW
Old 22 July 2001, 11:03 PM
Tim Taylor
Scooby Regular

Exclamation

Just had 217.59.186.97 trying to access mine.

Tim
Old 22 July 2001, 11:04 PM
Ian Cook
Scooby Regular

Also you have to realise just because you are looking at Scoobynet does not mean the attempted attacks are because of that ! i have had attempts when i am not connected to any BBS !
Old 22 July 2001, 11:27 PM
Miles
Scooby Regular