Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Best time of year for gliding

Search this Thread

Old 07 January 2003, 12:04 PM
TopBanana
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I received a gliding voucher for Christmas. Would like to book up, but wondering if there's much difference between spring and summer in terms of thermals etc? Don't know much about it yet
Old 07 January 2003, 12:05 PM
dsmith
Scooby Regular

Calling Nimbus....
Old 07 January 2003, 12:08 PM
Makalu
Scooby Regular

Wink

When its windy?

M.
Old 07 January 2003, 12:22 PM
super_si
Scooby Regular

When its windy?
Corker that
Old 07 January 2003, 12:24 PM
rik1471
Scooby Regular

Not today
Old 07 January 2003, 01:03 PM
TopBanana
Scooby Regular

Wink

Stop it, you're killing me!
Old 07 January 2003, 02:13 PM
Nimbus
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

Ahhh, one of my favourite past-times....

I've been gliding now for about 4 / 5 years. I had a "Air Experience" afternoon at my local club (The Soaring Centre) for my birthday in September. I'd always wanted to do have a go. I had a briefing and ground instruction and then a Aero-tow to 2500 feet with an instructor. I also had a winch launch that afternoon as we had not been able to get upto the 3000 foot they usually do for Aero-tows. I think the Areo-tow lasted about 15 mins and the winch about 5.

I then booked a full weeks intensive course in May the following year, as I wanted to try and get solo and then have the rest of the summer to fly. I didn't quite do it (two whole days rained off), but did another full days course in August and did my first solo I've been flying on and off ever since. Usually I fly in the summer after work.