Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Home Cinema - Bose stuff??

Search this Thread

Old 20 October 2002, 04:09 PM
Boost II
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile

I have heard a demo of some Bose equipment with their Videostage 5 circuitry which decodes even a mono signal into 5 channel surround sound and I liked it.
However the stuff is a bit on the pricey side - do any other companies offer a similar type of decoding so you can listen to full surround sound from sources not broadcast in Dolby Digital?

PS I'm a bit new to all this!
Old 20 October 2002, 04:17 PM
S55 HOT
Scooby Regular

Wink

There are various bits of kit around, I've seen TV's that emulate surround sound with only front speakers, various amps which have mood settings etc.

However, they never sound as good as the real thing.......

I'm running some Bose AM15's and they do sound good for the size though !
Old 20 October 2002, 05:28 PM
hades
Scooby Regular

Talking

You can't get genuine 5 channel surround from a plain mono signal, the data just isn't there. You can just add "ambience" reverb and echo, to simulate eg a concert hall. From a stereo source, you can generate other channels, using Dolby por-logic or similar techniques. This will never be as effective as true 5 channel Dolby digital, where all the channels are discretely encoded.

Having said that, I agree that I have heard some very impressive Bose kit over the years. You can get other surround sound amplifiers or receivers that will do Dolby Digital, DTS (another discrete encoded 5 channel, better than Dolby IMHO), Dolby pro-logic and other effects. People such as Yamaha and Sony are the biggest, but check out any hi-fi/home cinema mag and you'll find systems. You might have to build them up - buy an amp and then separately get the speakers - but you can get some very nice stuff for fairly sensible money.
Old 20 October 2002, 06:02 PM
camk
Scooby Regular

Cool