##UPDATE##

Search this Thread

Old 18 September 2002, 12:45 AM
BOB.T
Scooby Senior

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation

He's a weapons expert today!

The office smartarse that is! On the news they mentioned summat about the army wanting to keep the SA-80 rifle despite it's unreliable history, the conversation......

me: they're crap them things, they've been going wrong ever since they've been in use!
him: nah, they're quality bits of kit!
me: what are, SA-80's?
him: yeah, qaulity bit of kit!
me, a little stunned: how do you know?
him: I've fired one, I had no problems with it, it's all these idiots they let in the army who don't know what they're doing!

There was a brief silence, I buried mi head in some paperwork

Now don't get me wrong, I'm no military expert but I do sort of keep an eye on that side of things, my dad was in the army and we both have an interest in planes and stuff....... the SA-80 may be a perfectly decent rifle but I've never heard a good report about it untill today, from a mechanic turned office worker
Old 18 September 2002, 12:58 AM
TAZMAN
Scooby Regular

It is a ****e rifle, prone to jamming, almost impossible to keep operational in the field as the slightest exposure to a hostile enviroment sees it failing e.g dirt, grit whatever. Accuracy and range are not up to comparative weapons.

The most definative inditment of how bad it is , is that our special forces do not use it..preferring the M16 or Heckler and koch GR 3. Both more robust and more accurate.

He is talking out of his **** and having fired one once will not make him an expert...
Old 18 September 2002, 01:03 AM
BOB.T
Scooby Senior

I seriously doubt he could even pick an SA-80 out of a line up never mind fire one, I wouldn't let him loose with a super soaker
Old 18 September 2002, 01:35 AM
scrappydoo
Scooby Regular

Didnt the army spend a few million updating this gun. Apparently it didnt make a slight bit of difference.
Old 18 September 2002, 08:14 AM
P1Fanatic