Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Shed lights.

Search this Thread

Old 23 August 2021, 06:38 AM
RobsyUK
Scooby Regular

Received 183 Likes on 141 Posts
Default Shed lights.

A preschool shed needs some lights and as no one is prepared to change batteries and look after them I thought maybe solar is the way.

Are those solar lights any good?

Could you recommend any? The shed has a flat roof so a solar panel could sit on the top or mounted on the side of the shed quite nicely.
Old 23 August 2021, 06:46 AM
CharlySkunkWeed
Scooby Regular

Received 70 Likes on 48 Posts

Originally Posted by RobsyUK
A preschool shed needs some lights and as no one is prepared to change batteries and look after them I thought maybe solar is the way.

Are those solar lights any good?

Could you recommend any? The shed has a flat roof so a solar panel could sit on the top or mounted on the side of the shed quite nicely.
I've no experience with solar , and I am an electrician, but would solar not be crap as a sole source of power for the likes of winter or gloomy days (when you most need lights ironically)
Be fine as a supplement to another source of power but not as the ONLY source. Batteries etc would be needed for it to run properly which I assume becomes expensive. I think that's what those panels are for, charging a battery in a caravan for example.
Old 23 August 2021, 06:59 AM
RobsyUK
Scooby Regular

Received 183 Likes on 141 Posts

Originally Posted by CharlySkunkWeed
I've no experience with solar , and I am an electrician, but would solar not be crap as a sole source of power for the likes of winter or gloomy days (when you most need lights ironically)
Be fine as a supplement to another source of power but not as the ONLY source. Batteries etc would be needed for it to run properly which I assume becomes expensive. I think that's what those panels are for, charging a battery in a caravan for example.