Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

NHS-major issues.

Search this Thread

Old 11 January 2015, 07:54 PM
Dingdongler
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default NHS-major issues.

The NHS has been discussed here many times. It has been plagued with problems since I've been a medical student (and I'm sure long before) However this last year or so things seem to have got really bad.

I can't figure out what exactly has caused this and who is to blame. Whether it's the previous govt and their PFI schemes that have saddled Trusts with unaffordable 'mortgages' and their appalling reform of the GP contract.

Or if it's this govt with their own reforms.

Regardless, things are dire. My own Trust has ambulances queuing for hours before they can even get into A and E, those ambulances then can't get out to attend to other calls.

We've not had a major outbreak of any kind this year so we shouldn't be in this position. If we did, god help us all.

When I speak to colleagues around London they are all experiencing the same issues.

Something has to give....
Old 11 January 2015, 08:04 PM
andy97
Scooby Regular

Location: Api 500+bhp MD321T @91dB Probably SN's longest owner of an Impreza Turbo
Received 118 Likes on 103 Posts

My father in law has spent nearly 2 months in Boston Pilgrim hospital. He has been moved 4 or 5 times. Doctors and nursing staff failed to take proper care of him. They don't pass accurate records from one ward to the next, so his daughter's have to relay all his medical history to the new ward doctors. Some of his medicines need to be taken at precise times, when questioned about timings his records were misplaced. His barium test results were not allowed to be seen for data protection reasons, but we're freely available in the private hospital. In the end his daughter's sent him to a private hospital at £400 a day. After 10 days he was home after completing MR I scans and correctly diagnosing his conditions and sorting his medicines out.