Notices
Insurance Subaru Impreza insurance can be expensive, as with any performance car insurance. But the cheapest car insurance isn't always the best. Share your quotes, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Buying a Scooby - looking for insurance.

Search this Thread

Old 20 January 2007, 01:59 AM
swampster
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying a Scooby - looking for insurance.

Hi folks,

Thought, I'd sign up and pick the brains of all you seasoned Scooby owners!

Anyway, I'm looking to buy my first ever Scooby and have got my eyes on a potential purchase. Obviously before buying the car I wanted to make sure I could 1) Get insurance 2) Afford it.

Bit of background...
35, no convictions (motoring or otherwise), and 0 NCB (yes that's zero)!
The reason for having zilch in the NCB department is that for the last 14 years or so I've been a named driver on the other half's motability block policy.. claim free. Unfortunately like most block policies this doesn't accrue NCB!

So onto my potential purchase... it's a bog standard (no mods apparently) 1999 V plated Impreza 2000 UK model , below to average mileage value somewhere short of £6K, and HPI clear.

I've tried all the usual suspects and quotes fluctuate wildly, I tried confused.com which did return a few possibles. So I called one of them today.

The company, Quote-A-Car or quotea.. has given me a quote of £780 fully comp, on the proviso that I can prove I have been on the above block policy for at least 6 years, and that they either receive a copy of the Thatcham approval certificate or at least a dealership attestation that the security is Cat1 (as they have stated).

Does this sound reasonable? Any dealings with this company? Any improvements anywhere? Better deals?