Notices
ICE Serious sounds for serious cars.

ICE Newbie Question

Search this Thread

Old 14 August 2001, 05:04 PM
Mungo
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Okay, I'm new to this lark. I have an MY99 with a crap Phillips single CD/tuner, and the original Subaru speakers. The CD player has virtually given up the ghost - keeps getting in a tiz if I want to play beyond the middle of track 1 on any CD. The tuner isn't great for clarity. The sound is pretty poor, definitely not hi-fi!
How can I improve the set-up for a budget of around £500?
I guess speakers with tweeters might be a start. Then what? Where to shop? Are Halfords okay? I have Paula Marks just down the road - do they know their stuff? Is it worth trying to fit myself?
Thanks for any help!
Old 14 August 2001, 05:24 PM
stevencotton
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Replace those speakers, they're really bad. You can get a decent set of aftermarket components for around £100. Presuming your 99MY is the same as my 98MY, you can take out the (standard?) Philips head unit with the aid of some head unit removal thingies, about £2 from Halfords. Just plug the bits into yout new unit and put it in the hole. Chiark has excellent instructions including photos on his site. You probably have about £200 spare after that depending on the unit you buy, for an extra £100 you could get an amp and sub+box, but you'll need cable, plugs etc on top.

Steve.
Old 14 August 2001, 05:38 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Infinity 605CS £93
4 channel Kenwood/Alpine/Sony etc amp £150
Headunit £160
Cables/soundproofing £100
Sub/box £75

leaves £22 for a meal out (albeit a crap one) with your long-suffering wife or girlfriend if you have the misfortune...

Or spend more on the sub