Notices
ICE Serious sounds for serious cars.

adding amp using speaker cables as input

Search this Thread

Old 07 August 2001, 05:04 PM
druddle
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i have the girly clio with 6 speakers in it. i have been told that i can split the rear speaker wires and take one connection to the standard speakers and one to an amp.

is this safe ?? will this not overwork the head unit ?
Old 07 August 2001, 05:07 PM
steve McCulloch
Scooby Regular

I'm no expert at all here - but I did ask the same question a few years ago. A few stereo places laughed a long time at me.

Something about you get sheds loads of static interference.... so dont even bother..... Best to get a cheap after market stereo with a couple of preouts... (and not Panasonic as they are crap - IMHO)..

I'm sure someone else will comment.. but this budget attempt is poor quality
Old 07 August 2001, 05:15 PM
druddle
Scooby Regular

only problem is, the cd changer and remote for the renault unit are not compatible with the kenwood i was gonna buy, so i will have to replace the lot.

i was just looking to try and save some money. maybe i should upgrade the door and rear speakers (8" i think). any recommendations anyone ??
Old 07 August 2001, 05:52 PM
rockin'Ru
Scooby Regular

If the amp has speaker level inputs built into it,yes,you could run it this way.If you'll be running a sub from this amp,it won't sound TOO bad,but I wouldn't run any of the other speakers in the car that way.As mentioned by Steve,it's not the cleanest sound you'll ever hear,but for a sub,I've seen it work with acceptable results.
Old 07 August 2001, 06:24 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Agree with above. I wouldn't grace a really good car with this sort of install, but have done similar on our second car a Peugeot 406. Also factory remote, HU, CD changer with factory display. Big incentive not to change when just doing a budget job.