More Bass?

Search this Thread

Old 21 October 2000, 08:06 AM
Marcos
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Hi,

Just upgraded (95 WRX) to Alpine CTM-1503R head unit and changer with Rockford Fosgate 5inch component speakers.

Quality is very good however far too trebly so that is unfortunately tweaked in the head unit to -4 in its setting!!

Here's the question - as I've got a magnex backbox (oval and blitz air induction), there is obviously a lot of noise/rumbling in the car, this obviously reducing the apparent dynamic range of the stereo unit.

I would like to feel/hear more accurate bass without ruining what little sound stage I have in a car...do I:

1 - Completely sound proof the front doors? Boot? Other?
2 - Fit good quality back speakers...but I know this would confuse the overal sound stage.

3 - any other suggestion?

I listen to jazz/classical/paul weller type music plus research loads of other styles as I'm a musician,

Your advice would be greatly welcome (I'm sure my biggest saving is to put the original exhaust/filter back on!!!!)

cheers

marcus
Old 21 October 2000, 08:25 PM
Mr.Cookie
Scooby Regular

Talking

Definately sound proof
Old 21 October 2000, 08:44 PM
RonaldoH
Scooby Regular

Yep, sound proof the boot with dynamat That should reduce a small ammount of road/ehaust noise but is best used in conjunction with a sub or decent rear speakers in the shelf to enhance the "insulation of the sound".

I have sat in two Audi A3's, one given the full dynamat treatment and the other not. Same head unit same speakers e.t.c, the sound in the dynamatted treated car was deeper and warmer than the un-treated one. Thats in a fairly well sound proofed car too!