turbo boost cutting out

Search this Thread

Old 22 July 2013, 01:58 PM
eifion
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default turbo boost cutting out

hi all, im new to this so please dont shoot me down too quick
my turbo seals went on my td04 turbo so i bought another ( which was second hand), but it had a bigger restrictor pill so i used that vacume pipe as i thought it would siute the turbo, when i took the car up the road to try it i had severe boost cut, so i tried the original restrictor and the same, the only diffrence is that the turbo i replaced came off an import ( but still td04 ) and original was uk, also the wastgate had a diffrent setting on the actuator bar, but ive set that to what it was originally and now i got less boost and the boost cut is a lot less agresive, just cant get it to run right any help would be appriciated.
eifion
Old 22 July 2013, 02:10 PM
bludgod
Scooby Regular

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

Hiya,

what boost levels are you seeing, what gear and what model of car?

pete
Old 22 July 2013, 02:27 PM
Steve's Sti
Scooby Regular

Have you tried using your original actuator on the new turbo? Just to rule that out?
Old 22 July 2013, 03:03 PM
eifion
Scooby Newbie

Originally Posted by bludgod
Hiya,

what boost levels are you seeing, what gear and what model of car?

pete
hi, its a 2002 wrx, i dont know what the boost is as there is no gauge, it is fairly standard i think, the only thing mechanicaly is that its running decat.
eifion
Old 22 July 2013, 03:09 PM
eifion
Scooby Newbie

Originally Posted by Steve's Sti
Have you tried using your original actuator on the new turbo? Just to rule that out?
hi, ive just changed the settings on the one that was on it, before i changed them the cut out was very hard and seemed to hold the car back, since the change in settings ive not got as much boost and the cut out is smoother, 1st and2nd lots of boost, starts to run out in 3rd and nearly none in 4th and 5th
Old 22 July 2013, 03:17 PM