Notices

Legacy just died, suspect cam belt?

Search this Thread

Old 28 April 2013, 09:15 AM
XBZ3220
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Legacy just died, suspect cam belt?

Hi, I am new to subarus and bought a legacy gtb twin turbo a few months back . I have noticed a slight coolant loss over the months but could not find where it was coming from. yesterday was driving on a dual carriageway and there was a horrendous screeching from under the bonnet then the engine cut. smoke was coming from under the left side cam belt cover!! not a good sign!
My suspension is that the water pump may have been leaking which caused it to seize and break the belt.... is this a likely scenario for this car? whats the damage likely to be, will the internals be damaged after a broken cam belt. any help appreciated as i don't want this to be a short ending to owning a subaru!! thanks ,Dave in Poole Dorset
Old 28 April 2013, 11:31 AM
chopperman
Scooby Regular

Only way to tell is take the cam belt cover off and have a look. If the belt has snapped it may have caused major damage like dropped valves and the associated damage that would cause. You can inspect for this by putting a camera inside the spark plug hole and having a look.
Old 28 April 2013, 01:39 PM
XBZ3220
Scooby Newbie

So there is definitely potential for valve to piston contact with a broken cam belt on the boxer engine then?
Old 28 April 2013, 01:48 PM
chopperman
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by XBZ3220
So there is definitely potential for valve to piston contact with a broken cam belt on the boxer engine then?