Notices

new member with plenty of problems scooby classic 1998

Search this Thread

Old 29 March 2013, 09:55 PM
kiefer
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new member with plenty of problems scooby classic 1998

hi guys as said im new here and new to scoobs and have only ever had one other jap motor which was a mr2 always stuck to the german side of life with beemers, anyways busted my scooby cherry buying a cheap 98 classic 2l i know next to nothing about but i am a competent mechanic and have had plenty of projects, so basically are there any common issues with classic scoobs? ie engine issues electrical suspension steering common rot areas etc etc also speedo mileage wont show up maybe just a blown bulb but may be something else, counters work digital clock works all lights up fine just the mileage soesnt seem to want to come up unless im missing something?

theres a whining from the rear almost like a bearing whine but its consistent?

the brakes seem to be binding which im sure i can deal with easily but if theres any handy tips please let me know

clutch pedal is quite stiff im assuming its cable?

power steering seems a bit lax nothing to do with the fact its an awd? or maybe just needs bleeding with fresh oil?

thats all i can thing of at mo im sure if i get the help i need on this forum il be updating this

also il be spending a fair bit of wedge customizing the car with bumpers zausts wheels lights seats respray suspension anything engine mod wise etc etc so if you guys can help me with that be handy

cheers all
Old 30 March 2013, 01:30 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Whining could be diff or gearbox, get it checked, Rear bearing a pig to do

Brake overhaul easy enough, Godspeed sell stainless pistons and full seal kits.

Clutch is hydraulic. It might have a stiffer one in?

What do you mean by "lax"?