Notices

Ej20K questions (v3)

Search this Thread

Old 13 February 2013, 11:23 PM
Woojen
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ej20K questions (v3)

Hello im in the stage where im planing and building up my budget for my EJ20 build, so what i want from this post is feedback from the setup im planing and aswell some info about the parts i will be using.
Might aswell add that im fairly new to the EJ series (built a couple of 600+HP RB26/30s so im not new to engine tuning) so there will be some general questions about the EJ series because its pretty confusing in the start with all the different vers of the engine.

The Engine i currently have is a EJ20k (from a JDM 1997 STI)
First Question is about the block halves, they are not closed deck wich is preferered it seem when you are going over the 450+ hp line? i will do that so my question is, if i put in Darton sleeves in the EJ20k will it be as reliable as a closed deck then? or whats the weak thing about Open decks?

Ive read that the Heads of the Ej20 V3 is the most aggressive ones out there is this correct?

Setup i have planed so far

Bottom end
EJ20K V3 block halves (darton sleeved)
CP pistons
Eagle rods
2,5l crank

Head: EJ20K v3 heads
OEM Cams or some BC cams if the original isnt aggressive enough
Supertech Valve Stem Seals
Supertech 1mm Oversize Valves
Supertech Valve Springs and Retainers
get them seriously ported by a local guy who is really good at it!

Intake/Exhaust
custom Exhaust manifold with a rotated setup
Garrett GTX3576R
OEM Intake manifold? or any other sugestions here?

FUEL
1600cc Injectors
E85 as fuel
Aeromotive FPR
Aeromotive Stealth 340LPH Fuel pump
brand new fuel lines
Perrin fuelrails or similliar
Haltech platinum engine management with antilag and launch

And i will ofcourse uppgrade my drivetrain with a 6spd gearbox and a clutch that match my power goals!

The stuff im most worried about is the block halves if they will work good with this stuff with Darton sleeves?