08 WRX STI Type uk.

Search this Thread

Old 01 July 2012, 09:26 PM
Tiny...
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 08 WRX STI Type uk.

Evening guys. Newbie here.

Currently drive a Mk2 Ford Focus RS in Green pushing just shy of 400bhp and 405 ft lbs.

I'm looking at an 08/58 WRX STI. Need to pull a bit of money out of the car so the RS has to go.

Love the look of these and the performance speaks for itself even though it is almost 100bhp down on the Ford.

Been looking on here at things to look for, faults and other things about them, but there I cant seem to find the answers to my questions. Also, you only seem to read about the bad things.

I've read about engine failure. How reliable is the engine? What are safe levels of power?

Also been looking at the 330 PPP. Can this be done to a standard 300bhp one afterwards? If so, what is the cost of doing it.

The cars I'm looking at are out of warranty, so is an aftermarket warranty advisable or are they reliable enough to not bother?

Finally, what are servicing costs like, and what do they cost to maintain. My RS has been reliable from day one with no issues whatsoever. Hoping i'll find a scoob just the same.

Thanks in advance.

T
Old 01 July 2012, 10:18 PM
juggers
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome to the forum dude!
If your going for a car outside of warranty go for one with a forged engine rebuild!!

They are great cars and with 400bhp/400ltb theres not much out there that can beat them heres my baby.

Old 01 July 2012, 10:22 PM
Tiny...
Scooby Newbie

Thanks for the reply. That's what I want. Looks the dogs go-nads.

Are the forged engine rebuilds quite common then?

What should I be looking at spending to get a good one? See a fair few around the 14k mark.
Old 01 July 2012, 10:31 PM
juggers
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!