Notices

newbie here with a turbo issue, sorry if im reposting an old post :S

Search this Thread

Old 12 June 2012, 06:34 PM
jpearce
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie here with a turbo issue, sorry if im reposting an old post :S

Hi guys im new here so go easy please I have a 1999 impreza AWD 2000 turbo. my problem is my car seems to be under boosting, i used to get 0.9 on the gauge which i believe is standard for my car, in the last couple of days i am unable to get it over 0.5 i can here the turbo spooling. I have the standard dump valve on her and there are no other after market parts other than silicone hoses which where put on by previous owner, i have tried to move the wastegate actuator arm as i have heard this may be the issue, it does move back and forward all though it seems quite stiff and rough to move but i dont know what its supposed to be like to start with lol. any help on this would be greatly appreciated thanks.
Old 12 June 2012, 07:02 PM
Scoobyno1
Scooby Regular

I would say you either need to clean or replace your boost solenoid
Old 12 June 2012, 07:54 PM
jpearce
Scooby Regular

ok thanks i will try that, i forgto to mention that a few weeks ago like a fool i fitted an after market boost controller to just get a little more boost, i only had it up one click on the boost controller but it was over boosting to around 1.2 or more in the end i took it off and has not been rite since, i should have mentioned it in previous post as its this that has made my turbo poorly
Old 12 June 2012, 07:58 PM
Don Clark
Scooby Regular

Received 746 Likes on 619 Posts

I would check all your plumbing is correct and not leaking
Old 12 June 2012, 08:18 PM
jpearce
Scooby Regular