Exhaust explanation please!!

Search this Thread

Old 16 December 2010, 08:09 PM
Deano1565
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust explanation please!!

Right fellas,
I am no Subaru expert or mechanical expert for that matter but was just trying to get my head around a few things after a heated discusion at work. I was wondering how a larger than standard exhaust from the Turbo back could have a negative effect on the cars performance, mainly Torque? I was under the impression that the larger the exhaust from the Turbo the less restriction to flow. I was ulso under the impression that Turbo spool time would be affected the larger Dia the headers?

So am I right in thinking that you want the smallest Dia headers as possible to increase flow speed to make spool up quicker but not small as to cause a back presure to the cylinders. Then after the Turbo as little restriction as possible to prevent back presure back to the turbo.

Any sort of not to geeky or complicated answer would be appreciated .
Old 16 December 2010, 08:41 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

I'm no expert, but would imagine it has to do with gas speeds?

If the exhaust is TOO large, the gases just expand into it, slowing, causing the flow to be less?
Old 16 December 2010, 08:59 PM
Deano1565
Scooby Regular

Cheers mate, I suppose that makes sense!! but would it have any real effect on the torque?
Old 16 December 2010, 09:04 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Pass. You need to wait for some of the gen men to come on, David at APi, splitpin, Harvey etc.
Old 16 December 2010, 09:22 PM
CrispyK
Scooby Regular

It was described to me like water if you have a volume of water in a hose coming out a large pipe it would dribble out,but if it was through a smaller pipe the water will fill the pipe and become pressurised abd will force its way out spraying out with force,