Notices

hey newbie here need a lil help please :)

Search this Thread

Old 04 April 2009, 05:14 PM
al_P
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hey newbie here need a lil help please :)

hi how is everyone i just need some help on a few things ...

firsly i am purchasing a wrx sti4 in the next week if what i am just about to say is not a big thing about the car ...

i went to look at a wrx sti4 the other day its a fresh import from japan its a 1997 model with 112km on the clock looks pretty nice tbh but when i started it up (i presume it had not been started up in a while as it had only just come in to the dealer) there was a ticking noise like a tappet noise coming from the right hand side where the valve cover is which after the engine started to warm up it went . any ideas could it just be a sticking valve??

one other thing is there is an oil leak coming from the back end of the oil pan but i could not see if it was just the seal on the oil pan which was leaking so i am asking if there is anything that it could be that is anything to worry about .

other minor things are a small leak in the exhaust centre flange which i could fix for 2.99
and just a few lil scuffs but i expect that on an 11 year old car anyway

there was no smoke from the turbo on start up , the idle is stabe , it holds its revs , the gearbox engages gears easy , its the red top engine with the paint peeling as usual lol , all the warning lights go out on start up , i will get the cam belts changed when i get it and give it a service as its better safe than sorry but is there anything else i should look for ??

thanks for readin -al-
Old 04 April 2009, 07:42 PM
al_P
Scooby Newbie

bump
Old 04 April 2009, 08:24 PM
99greenwagon
Scooby Regular