Notices

What's the best to fit? Apexi AVCR or Apexi Power FC ECU with the Commander

Search this Thread

Old 16 October 2008, 02:04 AM
cottemonster
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's the best to fit? Apexi AVCR or Apexi Power FC ECU with the Commander

Hiya All

It's good to know there's always someone (everyone) on here who's willing to help, and usually solve your problems

I'm thinking of getting an Apexi Power FC ECU with the Commander hand control for my scoob, so I wonder if you fellas can help, especially the Jolly Green Monster as he seems to be the ECU remap Guru lol ;-)

I'm a bit of a newbie to the Scoob I've bought, but here's what info I know on it:

1996 Import Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0 Turbo Station Wagon
Engine Type: EJ20
Model: GF8B5BP
Transmission: Automatic
Is still in km/h and restricted

Upgrades on it (for now):

Hayward & Scott turbo back full stainless exhaust system
K&N Type cone filter
Unsure of turbo........check tomorrow

From what I've read up, the Model is found out by the first 2 letters, so in my case it's G=Impreza, F=Station Wagon, 8=2.0 Litre Motor.

I'm not sure of the BHP figure as standard, maybe someone can throw there 10p's worth in ?? lol

The ECU that is fitted states the following on top:

V5
22611 AB530
A18-000 Rj4 3X22
4 Pin connecter to ECU

I do have an Apexi AVCR (bran new in box unused) and was thinking of fitting that so I could up the boost carefully for a bit more oomf, untill I read a couple of the threads on here.

So the questions are, what would be the best thing to do? Should I fit the AVCR or go for the power FC and commander? Would the power FC need a remap If I decided to go that way? Does anyone know the correct part number for the Commander I would need (they're expensive so I don't want to louse up there)

Thanks for any help you can throw my way

Cheeers,

Mark.
Old 16 October 2008, 02:13 AM
Going 4 400bhp
Scooby Regular