Notices

help bugeye engine check light on! PLEASE

Search this Thread

Old 06 May 2008, 07:47 PM
Auto_Sparky_WRX
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help bugeye engine check light on! PLEASE

hey i hav a 52plate bugeye and saterday morning the engine light came on, it has no engine mods other than decat(mid) forge bov and induction kit it came on when i came to a standstill when shes ticking over the engine every now and the rocks to the left and the exhaust noise changes much like a missfire but the car runs fine it only seems to be on tickover.....HELP please!

any1 had this problem???
or any clu's???
Old 06 May 2008, 10:30 PM
cmpequeno
Scooby Regular

try to read the cell codes.
I bought an obd cable from the uk to connect the ecu to the laptop.
this way you know the codes and forum readers can help you better with your problem.
was about £30 I think
Old 07 May 2008, 12:16 PM
DaveR
Scooby Regular

hhmm I'm no engine expert but when something similar-sounding happened to me (when my MY02 was on its original engine), it turned out to be one of the coilpacks playing up. Quite cheap replacement job to fit a new one. The engine movement and rocking in the engine bay was fairly savage when this happened to me though - thought the engine was going to pop loose !
Old 07 May 2008, 06:41 PM
Auto_Sparky_WRX
Scooby Regular

well funny u should say that my m8 has a bug n he said the same so i plodded over 2 ebay and got a set off a 06 scooby ej20 engine for £10!!! so when they turn up il change them, plus its booked in to subaru on friday for a diag problem is the mot is friday aswell :S
Old 11 May 2008, 10:21 PM
Auto_Sparky_WRX
Scooby Regular

got it pluged in turns out my 02 sensor is faulty £370 :O
Old 11 May 2008, 10:48 PM
cmpequeno
Scooby Regular

wich cell code it showed?
Old 11 May 2008, 11:00 PM
bugeyeandy
Scooby Regular

Do not pay £370 for one. The same sensor went on mine (heater element went u/s.).