Notices

2003 WRX power upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 02 July 2007, 08:16 PM
jameswrx
Scooby Regular

Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default 2003 WRX power upgrades

Is there a nice easy way of getting a bit more go out of a 2003 blob eye WRX?

I see you can buy centre section de-cats, are these any good?

Anyone got some personal experience of stage 1'ish mods on one?

Am I right in thinking the power is a measly 225 bhp?

Would be interested to see it around 280bhp.. if it's relatively fuss free?

Any comments appreciated.
Old 02 July 2007, 10:49 PM
Henrik
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

Received 145 Likes on 109 Posts

Here's my recipe, but others may disagree (oh, and i'm just a hobbyist and not a qualified mechanic etc etc):

* decat up-pipe
* sports cat down pipe (e.g. a used STI PPP down pipe)
* decat centre cat
* some 2.5" centre section (the part that hasn't got the cat in it (just before the back box)
* some 2.5" back box
* STI panel filter
* walbro 255l/h fuel pump
* Remap

That lot should see you at above 280 quite easily, and shouldn't set you back too much money (my guesstimate would be around 1100-1200 pounds (buying everything new apart from the sports cat) if you don't mind fitting the bits yourself (imo, the only hard part would be the up-pipe, which is a pain in the ****).
Old 03 July 2007, 12:17 AM
andythejock01wrx
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Henrik has it right.

Mind yer brake pads and Whitleine ARB though.
Old 03 July 2007, 07:43 AM
funkyspider
Scooby Regular

as above. WRX with 280... Done