Notices

Newbie and engine question.

Search this Thread

Old 27 December 2006, 07:31 PM
Bartek
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie and engine question.

Well, hello everybody. I am quite new to scoobys world. Still being a big saab's fan. Location: Poland. Need some info since my knowledge of subaru is close to zero but I'm a fast learner and I like to mess under the hood sometimes so now to the point . Subaru's '97, 2.0 N/A, over 200.000km which means more than 120.000 miles I guess. Correct me if I'm wrong - it's EJ20 engine. 1 year old LPG instalation - quite modern, Italian. What's wrong? Noises. Let's call it metallic tapping, louder when cold, quieter when warm, but it is still there. I know it is hard to describe and diagnose without hearing engine but I think you could point me some directions I can how the things are.
What could be involved? After my carefull reading of others' posts I can see some options - some are good, some very bad.

1. Quite good - TB tensioner. Cons - I can't hear noise is going from front of the engine. Noise doesn't go away, sometimes it could be heard near left wheel arch, sometimes both. Call me a newbie but I don't know how to check it and if THAT specific noise spreads through whole engine bay that could be hard to locate. TB wasn't changed through last 100.000 km but I would feel more comfortable if I know that this is NOT TB tensioner. If I change it and it will be more serious, replacing TB set would be useless (e.g. engine swap).

2. Rod bearing - tapping becomes faster when rpms go up. Cons - are bearings audible when idling? Oil looks clear but I suspect there is more than it should be - about 1,5 litre more. Also - oil light acts well - after shutting off engine and turning ignition on it appears about 1-1.5 seconds later, so it could mean bearings hold oil pressure.