Notices

POWER LOSS HELP NEEDED!

Search this Thread

Old 24 October 2006, 12:19 PM
MELLY1985
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default POWER LOSS HELP NEEDED!

hi ive been experiencing some problems with my car il give ya a quick rundown and explain the problem as best as i can to get the best response possible as im not an expert when it comes to problem solving on turbo'd engines.

the car is a 1993 wrx import 65thousand miles regulary serviced and nevr adused ie thrashed from cold or cooled down, has a in car boost gauge(not leaking air), and a boost controller under the bonnet set to 1bar of boost(pipe work also not leaking air)fitted a fully decated exhaust system the same as the nurspec r one i think its called, sounds graet u can hear the turbo spooling up faster than b4, the car is holding its boost pressure and dumping when it should, went out and let the car warm up and then went to put my foot down and everything was all a little gerky the power was tere pinning me back in my seat the it was off the on all in one acceleration, also hit around 5 and half thousand revs in 5 and the revs just dropped to 0 took foot off the accelerator and then accelerated again and revs went back up,
its just really werid the power is tere sometimes and then it wont be but it sounds like it should if ya get me and also every now and then will be accelerting fairly hard and car will drop power like hitting a brick wall then be fine agin, i really dunno what to check this is probably a commen problem that has been covered alot but id jsut thought id ask any help would be really appreciated as im confussed
Old 24 October 2006, 01:18 PM
Jolly Green Monster
Former Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

could be the coil packs or plugs.. when were they last replaced and what gap on the plugs..

could be it is over boosting and hitting fuel cut..

I assume the boost controller is plumbed in without the standard boost control solenoid?