Notices

Open or closed??

Search this Thread

Old 15 September 2005, 02:40 PM
joedesi
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Open or closed??

Guys..this may have been covered before but what exactly is the difference between open, closed and semi-closed deck?

Any1 know the adv/disadv of using a closed deck?

Old 15 September 2005, 02:53 PM
scoobfan
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by joedesi
Guys..this may have been covered before but what exactly is the difference between open, closed and semi-closed deck?

Any1 know the adv/disadv of using a closed deck?

Right, i'm still learning myself but i'll have a go, and if i'm wrong i'm sure
some smug smart **** will tell me so (As has happened once already today!!)

An open deck block has water jackets around the bore keeping it cool, these spaces obviosly make the block weaker than a closed becasue of the machining.

A closed deck block uses oil squiters to cool the bores and is stronger as
it is not machined around the bore (Soild).

A closed deck is stronger than an open deck.

Not sure about a semi closed though !

Rob
Old 15 September 2005, 03:17 PM
joedesi
Scooby Regular

Cheers Rob...that kinda what i thought. if u look at some of the american websites they have huge debates on open vs closed

ps congrats on ur 600!! ive got 10
Old 15 September 2005, 03:29 PM
scoobfan
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by joedesi
Cheers Rob...that kinda what i thought. if u look at some of the american websites they have huge debates on open vs closed

ps congrats on ur 600!! ive got 10
Cheers bud

And welcome, this is a great site, but you can end up
spending far too much money !!!!

Rob
Old 15 September 2005, 04:28 PM
cts5555
Scooby Regular

closed decks are normally found on engines running higher rpm, they aid cooling. I dontthink there is a completly closed subaru deck block, but i may be wrong.
Old 15 September 2005, 05:01 PM
p1mark
Scooby Regular