Notices

95 octane fuel ok?????

Search this Thread

Old 12 May 2005, 10:30 PM
deco c
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 octane fuel ok?????

just wondering if i would do any damage to my 99 jap import sti if i run it on 95 ron with octane booster as it is very hard to get higher ron fuel where i am or would the car be safe just on 95 on its own,i heard it wont do any damage just that the car wont perform 100%.....is this true?
Old 12 May 2005, 10:41 PM
WezGT555
Scooby Regular

Im no mechanic but I have been asking the same question as you for the past few weeks. To summ up what i have been told:

Jap import Sti's are designed to run on 100/102 octane. Anything less and you do run the risk of detonation & engine failure. This is more likely to happen when really giving the car some stick or at high speeds. It is recommeded to either get the car remapped for the type of fuel you are using, or failing that, use octane booster. Octane boost can damage your cat and some have told me it will shorten the life of your plugs.

Are you in Ireland by any chance? You can get the car remapped for 95 but I dont know of anyone who has done this so cant comment on practicality/performance. A company called torque developments in wicklow can carry out the job for €1200. But I do know that the remapping process is a fairly skilled job so I would definitely enquire about the experience of the mapper before getting it done.
A lot of sti's in the UK are remapped for shell optimax (98.6 octane).

As for the car not performing, it is true you will lose some bhp when running on a lower octane fuel than required, say 10% for 95.

Hope this helps!

Wes.

Last edited by WezGT555; 12 May 2005 at 10:45 PM.
Old 12 May 2005, 10:48 PM
deco c
Scooby Regular