Notices

TEK 3 any good.......... no really I mean lol

Search this Thread

Old 22 March 2005, 03:32 PM
Gridlock Mikey
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking TEK 3 any good.......... no really I mean lol

Anyone in Nottingham had it done? Just about to book a slot to having it done on my MY00 UK. Over the years I have tried loads of things to keep me "interested" in the performance without spending a fortune. I had the car about 2 months and I changed the back box. New noise but not alot more shove to be fair. 1 month later the downpipe took a kicking. Loads more noise and yes I did notice a difference but it wasn't anywhere near what I expected. That's when I started learning to take some threads with a pinch of salt
I mentioned it on Scoobynet and the centre cat was blamed, so the next month, off that came. So where was this amazing spool up time and mid range torque. I entertained myself with the thought that at least the car sounded how i wanted it to and at the time it was still quite a rare thing to see on the roads.
A few months later, the OE panel filter came under attack, the ITG debate was raging strong as was the pro's and cons of removing your inner wing resonator.
I was advised to put an ITG in and remove the resonator (By a respected company ) I did it and guess what? Yep, loads more noise (Which was great by the way) but i beg to differ that it made ANY difference at all to the cars performance as far as ummph was concerned. (car ran fine for about 25,000 miles like that by the way)
So there I was, nearly £1k out of pocket (Yes exhausts used to cost alot more) and all I REALLY had was a car that was louder.
That taught me to listen to no-one remotely connected to selling stuff for my car about performance gains, I started listening to other drivers, not the money to burn herberts but folk who had spent their money and had nothing to loose by telling me it was a waste of money. Boy those conversations saved me a fortune