Notices

Turbo timer that sets the alarm when its finished?

Search this Thread

Old 20 February 2005, 09:51 AM
Nezz10
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Turbo timer that sets the alarm when its finished?

Bear with me on this one cause I am a turbo timer novice!

I am looking at getting a turbo timer for my scooby (MY00 uk turbo), the car has the original M30? Sigma alarm on it and I want it to automatically arm the alarm system when it has finished doing its timing job.

I can lock the doors as I leave it but I am not too keen on leaving it unarmed.

What system do I need to achieve this and is there is Sigma add onn that will do the job?

Thanks,

Nezz.
Old 20 February 2005, 10:00 AM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Why bother? Why not just drive gently for the last few miles then you'll have more cooling air passing through than you will by just idling? Additionally, whilst our cars do not have an after-run pump like say an Audi S4, the coolant can still circulate after shut down because of convection currents.
Old 20 February 2005, 10:52 AM
Coulster
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Agree with John. Only way to do it is fit an aftermarket alarm, clifford etc.

I would rather drive slowly for 1 mile then sit for couple of mins. A lot cheaper than spending £300 plus for an alarm. Stick a good track on cd player and then 2 mins will fly in.

Old 20 February 2005, 04:07 PM
Nezz10
Scooby Regular

I do at the moment but I have better things to do than sit there doing nothing for 2 mins, if I am in a rush then 2mins to too long!! If there was a system that could do it for me instead then i would be sorted.
Old 21 February 2005, 12:04 AM
AlanS
Scooby Regular

I used to have a turbo timer on my old car with a clifford concept 600. I used to leave the timer set for 200 seconds in the summer, get out the car and with the engine running I'd lock the door with the key. When the turbo timer cut the engine the alarm would self-arm after 30 secs.