Performance Increase

Search this Thread

Old 23 January 2005, 10:41 PM
Liddy
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Performance Increase

Hello all,

Need a bit of advice please. I've been a scooby driver for 3 years now and recently upgraded my 2000 turbo to a 2004 STi. Hasn't had any improvements yet so the bhp is still the standard 265. What changes can I make to get it up to 350??? Is it possible??? Prodrive Performance pack maybe???

Look forward to hearing from you all.

Cheers
Old 23 January 2005, 11:00 PM
Jonty
Scooby Regular

Lightbulb PPP

With approx. 261 bhp (265 PS), if you visit those nice people in Banbury and leave a cheque for about 2K then you should see your STi pumping out roughly 300 bhp (305 PS). But of course, bhp sells cars and doesn't win races... it's the increase in torque from 253 lb/ft to 299 lb/ft that your butt-dyno will approve of.

More bhp though..? More cheques then...

Jonts.
Old 24 January 2005, 10:48 AM
Liddy
Scooby Regular

Cheers buddy, was told that the people on this site were a friendly bunch!! OK then so if I head off to Banbury and spend the best part of 2 grand will my nice new car be a bad *** street machine???? Besides your suggestion what else could I do to increase the power???

Once again Thanks
Old 24 January 2005, 07:02 PM
Engineer@Uni
Scooby Regular

Theres a lot of things you can do, but if youre going to go past the 330 bhp/lb-ft mark, you will be needing a different intercooler after 350 bhp, probably better break rotors and/or pads, it would be an idea to go for a new set of coilovers and strut bars and anti-roll bars and most likely sooner rather than later you'd be needign a knew clutch. The point i'm trying to prove is that for a little money, the PPP (or indeed the 333 upgrade) is the most cost-effective and efficient way of gaining power. Any further than that and the (Bhp gaineg)/(pounds spent) ratio will be getting rather small.