Notices

tuning

Search this Thread

Old 29 December 2003, 09:41 PM
madbiker
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking

Hi i'm new to Subaru's and need some help, can anyone advise me on the best way to increase performance on my 2001 wrx. I have just bought it and having come from a 255bhp Fiat coupe i find it a bit flat. Can you change the ECU eprom chip or do you have to change the whole ECU. I know you can get power gains by the usual exhaust and air filter mods but i NEED something more!
Old 29 December 2003, 10:18 PM
Fatman
Scooby Regular

Do you want to keep the warranty intact?

If so, then the only option is the Prodrive Performance Pack (PPP). It will probably involve changing the full exhaust, leaving only a high-flow cat in the downpipe. They may change the air filter and they will revise the ECU. Ask your local Subaru dealer for pricing. There's many references to it on this Forum. Do a search for "PPP".

If you don't care about the warranty then there are many more options availble to you. In general terms, upgrading the exhaust will give the cheapest performance gains. Also consider a reprogrammed ECU. You may want to consider having it reprogrammed with ECUtek software. This uses the existing ECU hardware, but reprograms it (see here for ECUtek outlets). You may want to consider a replacement panel air filter element. Choose a dry one (not oiled, or at least - not heavily oiled) to reduce chances of problems with the air flow sensor. A boost gauge would be sensible, too - they're pretty cheap.

Unless you're planning to seriously modify your car, that's about all you would want to do power-wise.

If I were starting my Impreza-modding all over again, I wouldn't do the 'go-faster' things first. I would invest in the brakes and suspension first. It will improve the handling, feel and roadholding - making a better platform for those performance goodies.

Enjoy!
Old 30 December 2003, 08:10 AM
madbiker
Scooby Newbie