Notices

Zenon/Electra Blue Bulbs

Search this Thread

Old 11 May 1999, 12:54 PM
Matt Terroni
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fitted the Zenon 30% brighter (white light - brilliance) bulbs recently but have had nothing but trouble. Bulbs are excellant but loads of people flashing at me .

I got in my wifes car with the scooby behind with the normal beam on. Nearly blinded me! The lights look SO bright, brighter than my old mainbeam.

Replaced the brilliance bulbs with the Zenon blue bulbs. I still had some people flashing at me and the lights still look very bright, although not as bad as the brilliance.

Have now fitted Electra Blue which appear to be ok. Only had them on a day or so though so can't be sure. Expect everyone to flash at me now.

Have others had problems like this with the Zenon bulbs? I've had the headlights checked and the alignment is ok.
Old 11 May 1999, 07:34 PM
andybat
Scooby Newbie

I've been using Xenon bulbs for a couple of years now and have not been flashed at all. It might be worth getting the alignment checked or check it yourself, details in the FAQ
Old 13 May 1999, 02:20 AM
bruceh
Scooby Regular

DavieR,

Well, I hope I don't meet you coming the other way on a dark road at night!

There are several reasons why people might flash their lights at you, but in most cases it's probably because you are dazzling them. And then completely blinding them for having the temerity to let you know that your lights might need the beam alignment adjusted isn't exactly conducive to road safety (IMHO). What do you do if they then put their Cibies on as well? Pile into the wall of whiteness in a state of indignant self-righteousness and into a head-on collision?

Seriously, it might be safer for you and everyone else you might meet if you get your beams adjusted down a little to allow for the extra lux output.