Notices

What Happened????????????

Search this Thread

Old 27 June 2003, 12:44 AM
GordonShek
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Heading home tonight on the motorway, doing about 65-70 following another vehicle.

Got bored so I decided to drop a gear, into 4th, and floor it. It went at first, then the KnockLink shot to the top LED and at that moment, I lost power. It must have happened in a split second and after the LED light went back to a single green, I got the power back and that was that.

What happened? Was it overboosting? I've got an EcuTek 3 ECU so i thought the overboosting problem as solved. I had previous overboosting problems in my P1 when I changed for a complete decat exhaust system.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated thanks.

Gordon Shek
Old 27 June 2003, 12:56 AM
wanted
Scooby Regular

I'm no expert but i'll give my opinion anyway.
If the knocklink went to red then that must mean det and if so then the standard knocksensor probably picked it up aswell, so the loss of power would have been the ignition retarding and the boost dropping, to save the engine, but why this happened is what you're gonna have to investigate.
Old 27 June 2003, 07:56 AM
StickyMicky
Scooby Regular

my thoughts,
over boosted, cut the fuel, low fuel means lean running = det so knocklink shows top marks
Old 27 June 2003, 11:28 AM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Two possibilities, most likely first:

1. Overboost and hit fuel cut hence the red light which can happen on fuel cut or rev limiter
2. Detonation which the ECU killed by knocking the boost.

If the second one the cut would be nowhere near as sharp as the first which is a very abrupt fuel cut.

Given that we mapped it when it was a lot colder and it wasn't overboosting it is more likely you have oil in a restrictor or solenoid pipe which will need cleaning out, or a leak in the pipework to the actuator for example.