Oil surge/starvation myth?

Search this Thread

Old 18 January 2016, 11:39 PM
A1AXX
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

Received 33 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Oil surge/starvation myth?

After searching a lot, all I have found are failures due to the oil pickups cracking or upgraded pumps etc

What is the myth with oil starvation from track use causing bottom end knock? I know oil starvation will cause bottom end knock, but when has it actually been caused by cornering and not some other issue?

My car has been on track with the previous owner, has the toucan, so imagine the oil pressure was fine at castle combe as it has the wee alarms etc

I know guys that have ran with no baffles/windage tray and later with rcm windage tray, with no bad results before or after. I can see the killer b setup is the best going, but may be only available from the US.

On track I am a spirited driver, running ad08rs, hsd coilovers, whiteline arbs etc etc. Use good 15w50 oil. Engine is a 2.1.

Is there real evidence that the mods to the pick up/ windage tray or sumps really make a difference to oil pressure drops? Or do the pressure drops even get to a dangerous level?!

Im just not one for wasting time and money where its not needed, think many can agree with that. So many different things you could do for track prep, where does the prep stop and the fun begin!!!

Last edited by A1AXX; 18 January 2016 at 11:43 PM.
Old 19 January 2016, 08:47 AM
ditchmyster
Scooby Regular

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Without sounding too obvious, it's to do with the layout of the flat four, is the way it was explained to me, the cornering forces keep and push oil to the heads / cams so causing starvation at sump/crank level as there MAY be moments when there is very little or no oil for the pick up to suck due to it's location in the sump. This isn't going to cause immediate failure but over prolonged periods of track use will cause excessive wear on the big end shells, so shortening engine life.