Notices

v4 sti engine into v2

Search this Thread

Old 15 August 2015, 03:03 PM
nathmac
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default v4 sti engine into v2

hi all just bought a v2 sti with blown engine ive been offered a v4 sti engine for it but was wondering if its a simple enough swap ie wiring different this is my first project so any help would be much appreciated thanks
Old 15 August 2015, 03:15 PM
GreedoGC8
Scooby Regular

v2 to v4 have different compression ratios, different ignition setups and the ecus go from 4 to 3 plug, respectively. im not sure how much work would be involved in matching everything up but if its your first project id probably look for a v1/2 just to keep things simple. i just fitted my v2 wrx with a v1 wrx type ra forged shortblock, and it was all pretty much mix n match the best parts of each engine, plug n play bud.
Old 15 August 2015, 03:25 PM
nathmac
Scooby Newbie

hmm so easiest thing Is to find another v2 then would v2 wrx be straight swap then?definitley need something simple for a first project haha
Old 15 August 2015, 03:28 PM
bigdal
Scooby Regular

[QUOTE=nathmac;11724366]hi all just bought a v2 sti with blown engine ive been offered a v4 sti engine for it but was wondering if its a simple enough swap ie wiring different this is my first project so any help would be much appreciated

Why not just fit the bottom end that's what I did
Old 15 August 2015, 03:41 PM
nathmac
Scooby Newbie

this is my first project so not to clued up on them as far as I know the complete engine is gone no compression in 4 3 is ok but 2 and 1 only reading 80 so just assumed the complete engine is a write off?
Old 15 August 2015, 07:24 PM
TimH
Orange Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts